Club Championship


Buckley Runners Championship Races 2018-19

 

The competition is intended to encourage club members to participate in a range of races and to reward them for representing the club in races. The awards are made at the annual presentation night in June each year.

The Rules:

  • It is open to all paid up members of the club.
  • The competition runs from 29th April 18 to EO April 19.
  • You must enter the race as a Buckley Runner to earn points in any race (Ideally you should run in a Buckley Runners vest)
  • There are 22 nominated races
  • Races must include a mixture of at least 3 out of the 4 formats to count – ie Road, Trail/XC, Fell or Extreme
  • A maximum of 15 races count towards final score
  • Separate Male and Female competition

Scoring:

  • Points will be scored by multiplying number of runners x 5
    • So if 20 men run, the winner would get 100 points, down to the last placed Buckley male, who would get 5 points
    • If 15 ladies run, the winner would get 75 points

Extra points can be won by:

  • Getting a PB: 5 points for a PB on a previously run course

and

  • Winning the race: 5 points for winning down to 1 point for coming 5th

or

  • Winning age category: 3 points for 1st, 2 for 2nd and 1 for 3rd

Example:

  •  Max for winning the Flintshire 10k in 2016, would have scored:
    • 5 points for winning the whole race
    • 70 points for being Buckley top male (14 runners)
    • So 75 points altogether from that race

 

The Races:

Road Races  Date
Club Handicap  TBC
Ellesmere Port RC 5k Wed 15th August 2018
Ffrith 5k Sun 13h May 2018
Flintshire 10k Sun 21st October 2018
Caernarfon 10k September 2018
Spring 5  April 2019
North Wales 10m Championship (Wrexham)  TBC (April 2019)
Trail Races  Date
Deestriders Off Road Grand Prix top position June – Sept 2018
Fairy Freckled Cow Sun 1st July 2018
Robbie Webster Wobbler Wed 27th June 2018
North Wales XC Championship (Rhug)  3rd January 2019
Club Handicap – trail 5k  -December 2018
 Northop XC League race  10th November 2018
Fell Races  Date
Up The Beast Wed 6th June 2018
The Druid Wed 11th July 2018
Push Up The Pincyn Sat 28th July 2018
Ponderosa Wed 1st August 2018
Two Hillforts Sun 12th August 2018
King John’s Castle Sat 15th September 2018
Extreme Races  Date
Chester Marathon Sun 7th October 2018
Wrexham (Village Bakery) Marathon Sun 17th February 2019
Chester Half Marathon  Sun 29th April 2018
Jubilee Plunge December 2018

 

Results and standings will be published monthly on the club website and Facebook for transparency